The AASE Research Award has been established to provide an opportunity for research which can support evidence-based practice in the education of students with special needs.  It is funded from contributions by members – teachers, academics, therapists and others involved in the education of students with disability.

Students spending time in library


To support research to identify:

  • Effective teaching strategies to advance the learning of students with special needs;
  • Optimum provision of and access to quality education services for students with special needs;
  • Quality teacher education and professional development leading to positive outcomes for students with special needs.


The focus for research projects for 2023 will be consistent with the Strategic Aims of AASE Inc:

  • Preparation and support of educators to enable provision of quality education for students with special needs.
  • Evaluation and dissemination of evidence about the efficacy of the use of technology in learning for students with special education needs.
  • Contributing to the development and implementation of the Australian Curriculum.


  • The AASE Research Award will be funded managed by AASE National Council.
  • The AASE National Council will establish an AASE Research Award Committee which will manage the Award in conjunction with the AASE National Executive and appropriate university research bodies.


Applicants must submit a description of their prospective research project including:

  • Applicant’s name/s, academic background, current positions, roles, organisation
  • Proposed aims/outcomes of project
  • Rationale/background for project including a brief literature review
  • Methodology for research
  • Significance and relevance to the objectives of the AASE National Research Award and AASE strategic objectives
  • Budget – costs/other funding sources
  • Timeline for project
  • Arrangements for obtaining ethics approval for the project
  • Details of a nominated University Research Office to manage funds
  • Applications must be limited to 5 pages.
  • Applications to be submitted to the AASE Executive Officer, Carmel Blake, at:  executiveofficer@aase.edu.au 


  • Annual reports are required for AASE sole-funded and jointly-funded projects and a final report is required at the end of each research project. Completion of all projects will be negotiated within a 3-year period.


  •  On conclusion of the research a research paper may be offered to the Editorial Committee of the Australasian Journal of Special and Inclusive Education for consideration for publication. An Executive Summary will be placed on the AASE website.
  • Where appropriate and relevant to the theme of the conference program, the researcher may be invited to present the results of the research at the annual AASE National Conference following the submission of the research report.


The Research Funds will be provided to the applicant’s university or organisation following discussion between the applicant’s organisation and the AASE Treasurer.

Winners of the 2021 AASE Research Award

“Piloting an Inclusive Schools Self-Assessment Instrument for the Australian Context” From Flinders University SA


Dr Jane Jarvis

Dr Julie McMillan

A/Professor Kerry Bissaker

Dr Carol Le Lant

For more information download this PDF file: AASE Research Award Winners 2021

Previous Recipients of the AASE Research Award

2019 AASE Research Award Recipient

Dr Jessica Zanuttini

Dr Cathy Little

Dr Ilektra Spandagou

Professor David Evans

For more information download this PDF file: AASE Research Award Winners 2019

2018 AASE Research Award Recipient

Dr Jennifer Stephenson

Executive Summary of Research Award: AASE Award Executive Summary 2018


2009 – 2016 AASE Research Award Recipients

AASE Research Award Recipients 2009-2016